INUIT Final Conference & Aerosol Society Focus Meeting 11: 2nd Atmospheric Ice Nucleation Conference

26th Feb - 1st Mar 2018


Focus Meeting 11, the “INUIT Final Conference and Second Atmospheric Ice Nucleation Conference” was held from 26 February – 1 March 2018 in Grasellenbach/Germany, jointly organized by the INUIT Research Group & the Aerosol Society.

The DFG Research Unit INUIT studies heterogeneous ice nucleation in the atmosphere by a combination of laboratory studies, field experiments and numerical modeling. Besides the concerted research efforts within the group, INUIT also serves as a nucleus for cooperative actions within the international ice nucleation research community such as instrument and method inter-comparisons, joint field experiments, summer schools and international workshops. The project started in 2012 and ends in 2018. The final conference will take place in 2018 as a concluding dissemination activity.
In January 2017, the Aerosol Society hosted the “First Atmospheric Ice Nucleation Conference”, chaired by Ben Murray. The conference proved to be a highly successful forum for the open exchange of latest research results and intense scientific discussion. Ben Murray agreed with the INUIT members to join forces for conducting a joint conference in 2018 with the aim to continue the scientific exchange of the international ice nuclei research community.

The conference was organized into sessions including invited talks by solicited speakers followed by contributed talks. The poster sessions were also grouped around the core themes and posters will be on display for the entire conference.


Solicited speakers:

Dan Cziczo, MIT, Boston, MA, USA
Paul DeMott, Colorado State University, Fort Collins, CO, USA
Annica Ekman, Stockholm University, Sweden
Naruki Hiranuma, Texas A&M, TX, USA
Corinna Hoose, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
Zamin Kanji, ETH Zurich, Switzerland



Conference Agenda

Poster Program:

To complement the presentation program, a poster abstract exhibition was held with authors in attendance during a poster sessions.

Conference Posters

Organizing committee:
Prof. Joachim Curtius (chair organizing committee; spokesperson INUIT)
Institute for Atmospheric and Environmental Sciences
Goethe University Frankfurt am Main

Prof. Benjamin Murray (Aerosol Society)
Institute for Climate and Atmospheric Science
University of Leeds, UK

Dr. Heike Wex
Leibniz-Institut für Troposphärenforschung (TROPOS)
Leipzig, Germany

INUIT office Frankfurt
Birte Hülsen & Susanne Staechelin
Goethe University Frankfurt am Main
Contact: [email protected], +49 69 798 40261