Doctoral Thesis Prize

Deadline: 15th September 2023

Doctoral Thesis Prize.

Rewarding excellence in doctoral research is an important route to recognising the achievements of early career scientists.

Candidates for this award must have successfully completed their doctorate and nominations must be supported by a letter from either the external examiner or supervisor.


  • Candidates are required to be a current member of the Aerosol Society.
  • Candidates must have successfully completed their viva for a doctorate degree within a period one year prior to the deadline, with their thesis requiring only minor corrections or no corrections, at a University in the United Kingdom or Ireland.
  • The candidate’s research should fall into the broad area of Aerosol Science.

The nomination process

After the successful completion of a viva, a candidate can be nominated for this award on the basis of an outstanding body of original research presented in their thesis. Either the supervisor or the external examiner can nominate the candidate. The abstract and title of the thesis should be sent to Lindsey Stoner at [email protected] together with the letter of support.

The letter should include:

1.       A statement to the effect that the candidate is being recommended for the award of a PhD with no more than minor corrections.

2.       A brief summary of the area of research.

3.      An assessment from the person nominating the candidate of their strengths in the areas listed below, providing a score in the range 1-10 (10 being the highest) together        with a brief written justification giving examples:

·         The originality and novelty of the candidate’s aerosol research;

·         The candidate’s critical ability;

·         The extent to which the thesis contains material which is suitable for publication (or has been published) in well-regarded journals;

·         The candidate’s enthusiasm for aerosol science.

Please ensure that your nomination addresses all the points asked for above to ensure a fair judging process.

Nominations can be submitted at any time, but must be submitted prior to the 15th September. The intention is that the successful nominee will be informed of their success by the 15th October and that the prize will be announced at the Annual Aerosol Science Conference (usually in early Nov). Ideally we would like to publicly award the prize in person at the AASC, but understand that this will not always be possible.

Terms and conditions

  • The successful candidate will be awarded £500 payable by BACS transfer.
  • Only one candidate can be nominated by each supervisor or external examiner.
  • The recipient of the prize will be announced on the Aerosol Society website, newsletter and social media pages and is required to submit a member profile for publication on request.
  • In addition, where practical, recipients will be invited to present their research, either as an oral or poster presentation, at an Aerosol Society conference.
  • The title and abstract of the thesis may be shared via Aerosol Society publications unless the nominee/supervisor requests otherwise.

Previous Award Winners

Aleksandra Marsh - University of Bristol
Robert Takeo Nishida - University of Cambridge
Anxiong Liu - Imperial College London
Alberto Sanchez Marroquin - University of Leeds