Annual Aerosol Science Conference Thursday 8th November 2018

09:30 - 10:00

Registration and Refreshments

10:00 – 10:15

Welcome & Introduction

James McGrath, Simon Parker & Marc Stettler – Organising Committee

Session 1

Chair: Jacqui Hamilton


10:15 – 10:45

Plenary Lecture:

Andreas Schmidt-Ott Delft University of Technology

‘Reflections on a career in Aerosol Science and future challenges

10:45 – 11:00

Simon O’Meara National Centre for Atmospheric Science/University of Manchester

Modelling Aerosol Chambers: Comparison of Model Results with Measurements

11:00 – 11:15

Mochammad Syarif Romadhon University of Oxford

“SPARCLE: an instrument for aerosol refractive index measurement”

11:15 – 11:30

Flo GregsonUniversity of Bristol

“Drying Aerosol Droplets: Evaporation Kinetics and Crystallization of Salt Solutions”

11:30 – 11:45

Christopher Abram Princeton University USA

“Formation mechanisms of Ni-rich LiNi1-x-yMnxCoyO2 battery cathode materials in flame aerosol synthesis”

11:45 – 12:00

Andrew BaylyUniversity of Leeds

“Modelling of Amorphous to Crystalline Transformation in a Drying Droplet/Particle”

12:00 – 12:15

Posters on the Podium

Meet our poster authors and hear a brief introduction to their research. You can view the poster programme here.

12:15 – 13:30

Lunch and Author Attended Poster Session

You can view the poster programme here

Session 2

Chair: Ian Colbeck

13:30 – 14:00

Plenary Lecture:

Catherine Noakes University of Leeds

“Modelling Bioaerosols in Indoor Environments”

14:00 – 14:15

Mara Otero FernandezUniversity of Bristol

“Understanding the Fundamentals of Airborne Disease Dynamics”

14:15 – 14:30

Jessica ProctorUniversity of Leeds

“Experimental modelling of infectious aerosols from people with cystic fibrosis”

14:30 – 14:45

Daniel McCluskey University of Hertfordshire

“Development of an Automated Smart Trap for Wheat Pathogen Detection”

14:45 – 15:15

Annual General Meeting of the Aerosol Society

15:15 – 15:45

Refreshment Break and Author Attended Poster Session

You can view the poster programme here

Session 3

Chair: Jurgita Ovadnevaite

15:45 – 16:15

Plenary Lecture: 

Roy HarrisonUniversity of Birmingham

“Diesel Exhaust Aerosol: Atmospheric Processing from Tailpipe to Lungs”

16:15 – 16:30

Alexander HarrisonUniversity of Leeds

“The ice nucleating activity of transported African desert dust in the Caribbean”

16:30 – 16:45

Michael CotterellUniversity of Exeter

“Aerosol Optical Properties during the Formation of Atmospherically-Relevant Brown Carbon Aerosol”

16:45 – 17:00

Atallah ElzeinUniversity of York

“Temporal variability of polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons and their oxidative derivatives in Beijing, China: wintertime observations”

17:00 – 17:30

Outstanding Junior Researcher Award Presentations

Final Remarks & Conference Close

Jonathan Reid – Society President