The DDL Emerging Scientist Award

Deadline: 30th June 2020

This award recognises significant scientific accomplishment or innovation during the early stages of an individual’s career in inhalation science.

Entries are welcome from researchers from across the globe working in academia, industry, public service or other scientific establishments.

The winner will receive a Commemorative Award, £1,000 in prize money and an invitation to present the DDL Emerging Scientist Award Lecture based on their work at the forthcoming DDL Conference.

You are also able to nominate an individual you feel should apply for this award – please email for more information.



  • Applicants must be a member of The Aerosol Society at the time of application
  • Applicants must be within 15 years of the award of their PhD (or highest alternative qualification) on 31 December in the year of application
  • The individual applicant should have demonstrated, through public work, significant scientific accomplishment or innovation in Inhalation Science
  • Applicants need to be available to present their work at the forthcoming DDL Conference in December

Terms and Conditions

  • Applicants must submit their CV
  • Applicants must submit a 1000 word synopsis of their research
  • The synopsis of the research must focus on the importance to Inhalation Science and the Pharmaceutical Industry
  • The applicant should explain clearly and succinctly the innovative aspects, relevance and impact (realised or potential) of their contribution to the field to date and aspirations for their future career (to be included in 1000 word count)
  • The application may contain up to three figures and ten references (cited fully using the Vancouver system.  Not included in the 1000 word count)
  • Entries will be judged by a DDL committee panel and a decision will be communicated to the applicant in September
  • The successful applicant will be invited to present The DDL Emerging Scientist Lecture during the DDL Conference in December
  • The Commemorative Award and £1,000 prize money will be presented at the DDL Conference in December

Previous Award Winners

Josue Sznitman
Francesca Buttini

Apply for this award

In order to apply for this award, you must be a member.
Membership costs just £30.00 per year, and is free for students.